Posted: 3/4/2013

The First Tee Recognizes "Outstanding Participants" Among Awards Presented

Several chapter leaders also honored

Nashville, Tenn. (March 4, 2013) - This past weekend, The First Tee honored eight participants who demonstrated excellence before naming The First Tee of Atlanta’s Tommy Swearingen, III and The First Tee of Pittsburgh’s Mallorey Stack the winners of the “Outstanding Participant Award,” earning them each $15,000 college scholarships. The award was announced during The First Tee’s Network Meeting Gala Dinner on March 2 in Nashville, Tenn.

The purpose of the award is to recognize participants who demonstrate leadership and whose lives exemplify one or more of The First Tee Nine Core Values.

The other six finalists-Carly Akine, The First Tee of Phoenix; Latoshia Davis, The First Tee of Pine Mountain; Meghan McCormick, The First Tee of South Dakota; James Schafer, Jr., The First Tee of Cleveland; Brittany Woo, The First Tee of Richmond & Chesterfield; and Adam Zakaria, The First Tee of Central Coast—each received $1,750 scholarships.

The First Tee Founding Corporate Partner Shell Oil Company generously funded the scholarships.

Tee chapters  for making a positive impact through their involvement with The First Tee.

The First Tee of San Francisco was awarded the first-ever Barbara A. Douglas-Dr. William J. Powell Diversity Award for demonstrating outstanding leadership and commitment to promote ethnic diversity within The First Tee network, their chapter and in their community.

Frank “Sandy” Tatum, chairman emeritus of The First Tee of San Francisco, was honored with the Jack Stephens Leadership Award. The award, created in honor of Jack Stephens, a generous supporter of junior golf and the first Trustee of The First Tee, recognizes for outstanding service, leadership and commitment to the organization’s mission. 

Greg Norris, a volunteer with The First Tee of Cleveland, was named The First Tee’s George H.W. Bush/Shell Oil Volunteer of the Year. The prestigious award honors outstanding volunteerism and contributions to the organization.

President George H.W. Bush, honorary chair emeritus of The First Tee; Jack Nicklaus, World Golf Hall of Famer and Trustee of The First Tee, Jim McGlothlin, chairman and CEO of The United Company; and Tim Finchem, commissioner of the PGA TOUR and chair of The First Tee Board were presented with The First Tee’s Founder Awards for their success with The First Tee Campaign for 10 Million Young People. The award recognizes special individuals whose support of The First Tee chapters and home office allows us to impact the lives of young people in a meaningful way.

For more information about The First Tee, visit

About The First Tee
The First Tee (, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit youth development organization whose mission is to impact the lives of young people by providing educational programs that build character, instill life-enhancing values and promote healthy choices through the game of golf. With its home office at World Golf Village in St. Augustine, Fla., The First Tee reaches young people on golf courses, in elementary schools, at other youth-serving locations and on military installations.   

Since its inception in 1997, The First Tee has introduced the game of golf and its values to more than 7.6 million young people in all 50 United States and four international locations. The First Tee is an initiative of the World Golf Foundation and its Founding Partners are LPGA, the Masters Tournament, PGA of America, PGA TOUR and the USGA. Shell Oil Company is The First Tee’s Founding Corporate Partner and Johnson & Johnson is its Legacy Partner. Former President George W. Bush serves as honorary chair.

Media Contacts:
Sara Henika
(904) 940-4341